Ryokan Gojyuan

Yokoso - Welcome to Gojyuan

Gojyuan facade

Ryokan Gojyuan is a small traditional Japanese style guest house, built of sandstone (circa 1855) that has been in the family since the early 1930's.

A very important feature of Gojyuan is our support for Japanese cultural exchange. We hope to offer a place for regular promotion of craft and cultural workshops.

We are located very close to the central business district of Sydney, in the beautiful and quaint suburb of Balmain.

Transport to the city by bus is available right outside the front door or a short walk to the ferry will give you a lovely ride on Sydney Harbour. Our contact page displays a map of the local area, directions on how to get here and an option to join our mailing list.

Please watch our news to keep track of our events and if you have experience in any Japanese traditional skill eg. dance, theatre ( noh, kabuki, bunraku ), music ( shakuhachi, shamisen, koto ) etc. and would like to share this, please contact us.

We are also on Facebook - please support us and like our page.

We hope you will come to visit us in the near future.

 

Make a Booking

Workshops and Events

Ikebana Workshop
Friday 22-08-2014 11:00 am
Shojin Ryori Workshop
Saturday 23-08-2014 10:30 am
Gift Wrapping Workshop
Sunday 31-08-2014 11:00 am
Sumi-e Workshop
Friday 05-09-2014 11:00 am
Ikebana Workshop
Friday 12-09-2014 11:00 am
Kimono Salon
Saturday 13-09-2014 11:00 am
Calligraphy Workshop
Sunday 14-09-2014 11:00 am
Wagashi Workshop
Saturday 20-09-2014 11:00 am
Miso Making Workshop
Monday 22-09-2014 11:30 am
Temari Workshop
Saturday 27-09-2014 11:00 am

Workshop and Event Calendar