Ryokan Gojyuan

Yokoso - Welcome to Gojyuan

Gojyuan facade

Ryokan Gojyuan is a small traditional Japanese style guest house, built of sandstone (circa 1855) that has been in the family since the early 1930's.

A very important feature of Gojyuan is our support for Japanese cultural exchange. We hope to offer a place for regular promotion of craft and cultural workshops.

We are located very close to the central business district of Sydney, in the beautiful and quaint suburb of Balmain.

Transport to the city by bus is available right outside the front door or a short walk to the ferry will give you a lovely ride on Sydney Harbour. Our contact page displays a map of the local area, directions on how to get here and an option to join our mailing list.

Please watch our news to keep track of our events and if you have experience in any Japanese traditional skill eg. dance, theatre ( noh, kabuki, bunraku ), music ( shakuhachi, shamisen, koto ) etc. and would like to share this, please contact us.

We are also on Facebook - please support us and like our page.

We hope you will come to visit us in the near future.

 

Make a Booking

Workshops and Events

Miso Making Workshop
Monday 22-09-2014 11:30 am
School Holiday Origami Workshop
Friday 26-09-2014 11:00 am
Temari Workshop
Saturday 27-09-2014 11:00 am
Mizuhiki Workshop
Sunday 28-09-2014 11:00 am
School Holiday Cooking Class
Monday 29-09-2014 10:30 am
School Holiday Temari Workshop
Tuesday 30-09-2014 11:00 am
School Holiday Furoshiki Workshop
Wednesday 01-10-2014 11:00 am
Sumi-e Workshop
Saturday 04-10-2014 11:00 am
Ikebana Workshop
Sunday 05-10-2014 11:00 am
Kimono Salon
Saturday 11-10-2014 11:00 am

Workshop and Event Calendar